1. What books are contained in Holy Scripture?
    The thirty-nine books of the Old Testament and the twentyseven books of the New Testament together form the whole of Holy Scripture. (Articles of Religion, 6)
  2. What is in the Old Testament?
    The Old Testament proclaims God’s creation of all things; mankind’s original disobedience; God’s calling of Israel to be his people; his Law, wisdom, and saving deeds; and the teaching of his prophets. The Old Testament bears witness to Christ, revealing God’s intention to redeem and reconcile the world through Christ. (Luke 24:44; 1 Corinthians 10:1–4; Hebrews 11)
  3. What is in the New Testament?
    The New Testament proclaims Jesus Christ’s birth, life, ministry, death, resurrection, and ascension; the Church’s early ministry; the teaching of the apostles; the revelation of Christ’s eternal kingdom; and the promise of his return. (Luke 24:45–49; Acts 1:1–11;
    Philippians 2:5–11)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s